The little people

The little people

Cecil Migayi
4 min readApr 10, 2021

You love what you do, no? You must be happy with your life, no? Why not? We are in a simulation. What? You must be wondering where the heck did that come from? I will repeat. We are in a simulation. Yes, a computer program. Okay, you don’t agree but give me a chance to explain my insanity. I promise I won’t recruit you into my kookoo land.

By the way, have you seen my latest E-Class? I had to park it out in the rain because my parking is full. Pardon my manners, I didn’t introduce you to my wife Pamela. Our engagement was in Dubai. Our royal garden wedding was in Kempinsky. We had to do something for the parents, so we had a traditional in Siaya. The after-party — all-white exclusive, invites only at the famous white sands. It had to be the white sands resort hotel! White sandy beach, white hotel, and white dress code. All white. Do you dig it? Omondi, why all this flashiness? Why not? The reader might be wondering where you get all this money? Where else? Firstly, who is that (the reader)? The person staring at this masterpiece on their screen. Which is the masterpiece? Your writing, or my exquisite life? Your life Omondi, your life!

Meet Oscar, he is the don in these streets. Which streets, you ask? The real estate. An array of housing parade along the road at afar. We cannot exhaust his investment unless we drive down that dusty road. It might take us the whole day. Do you have the time? Am talking to you, my dear reader. Do you? Oscar couldn’t come with us for this visit. He is ever busy. No time for enjoyment, only business — his exact words. I think it’s better he didn’t come with us. He is ever on the phone. He can’t catch a breath! I fear for his health. I also fear he might never stop and enjoy his fruits. What do you think, dear reader? He has the money. He has a steady income. What else is he chasing? Or maybe he’s running away from something? Could it be fear? Maybe it is both. He could be afraid of poverty. We all are.

Did you watch the news today? I hope you didn’t miss the headline in today’s newspaper? Things are changing my dear reader. An era where if you man up or woman up, someone gets offended. Did you notice I used both genders? Even in prayer, we end with amen and awomen. You laugh but it’s happening in some parts of this big ancient world. Hope you are not offended, dear reader? Hope you are on my side?

Do you remember what Morpheus asked Neo? Blue pill or red pill? Blue pill — the story ends and you believe whatever you want to believe. Red pill — Stay in wonderland and discover how deep the rabbit hole goes. Which one would you pick?

Weeds. That’s the name of a TV series I watched in 2005. That’s where I got the title of this masterpiece. From its theme song to be specific. Have you watched it? Do you remember that song? It was written in 1962. Here is the song, I hope as you sing along to its catchy tune, you remember my words, dear reader.

Little boxes on the hillside,
Little boxes made of ticky tacky
Little boxes on the hillside,
Little boxes all the same,
There’s a pink one and a green one
And a blue one and a yellow one
And they’re all made out of ticky tacky
And they all look just the same.

And the people in the houses
All went to the university
Where they were put in boxes
And they came out all the same
And there’s doctors and lawyers
And business executives
And they’re all made out of ticky tacky
And they all look just the same.

And they all play on the golf course
And drink their martinis dry
And they all have pretty children
And the children go to school,
And the children go to summer camp
And then to the university
Where they are put in boxes
And they come out all the same.

And the boys go into business
And marry and raise a family
In boxes made of ticky tacky
And they all look just the same,
There’s a pink one and a green one
And a blue one and a yellow one
And they’re all made out of ticky tacky
And they all look just the same.

--

--